Skip to main content
Delaware Senate Democrats

ADVISORY: A celebration of the Delaware state sea turtle project

June 15, 2022

WHAT: Students, educators, environmentalists and legislators on Friday will celebrate the passage of Senate Bill 303, which designates the loggerhead as Delaware’s official state sea turtle.

The event will be hosted by Senator Stephanie Hansen, the prime sponsor of the bill who worked with the Delaware Department of Education, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, the Daughters of the American Revolution, and the Marine Education, Research & Rehabilitation (MERR) Institute to raise awareness about the environment and aquatic life among Delaware students.

This event will feature guest speakers, award presentations to the student contest winners, and the unveiling of a one-of-a-kind mural.

WHO: Senator Stephanie Hansen
Rep. Debra Heffernan
Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long
Dr. Mark Holodick, Secretary, Delaware Department of Education
Suzanne Thurman, MERR Institute
Sarah O’Donnell, Daughters of the American Revolution
Donn Ott, Teacher

WHEN: Friday, June 17, 2022 at 11:00 a.m.

WHERE: East steps of Legislative Hall, 411 Legislative Avenue, Dover, DE 19901

Essay Contest Winners

New Castle County

1st: Ivena Mukherjee, Charter School of Wilmington
2nd: Emmeline Leins, Middle School Honors Academy
3rd: Rafael Tesafi, Middle School Honors Academy

Kent County

1st: Chloe Long, Dover High
2nd: Aiden Smith, Caesar Rodney High
3rd: Madysen Myers, Caesar Rodney High

Art Contest Winners


New Castle County

1st: Maddox Gable, Cedar Lane Elementary
2nd: Jaden Son, Linden Hill Elementary
3rd: Payton Staab, Gateway Charter

Kent County

1st: Riaan Patel, Allen Frear Elementary
2nd: Aurora Hamblin, Hartly Elementary
3rd: Joshua Guzman, Campus Community School

Sussex County

1st: Estuardo Alonso Escalante Morales, Georgetown Elementary
2nd: Fiora Esposito, Milton Elementary
3rd: Charli Evans, Laurel Elementary


New Castle County

1st: Teagan Murphy, Cab Calloway Middle
2nd: Lucy Gray, Springer Middle
3rd: Logan Risko, Springer Middle

Kent County

1st: Natalie Hamblin, Central Middle
2nd: Naomi Boland, Campus Community School

Sussex County

1st: Alisa Tsirtsan, Beacon Middle
2nd: Mycaela Ribiero, Beacon Middle
3rd: Malachi Elliott, Millsboro Middle


Kent County

1st: Wilsah Baye, Dover High

Sussex County

1st: Michelle Zhang, Cape Henlopen High
2nd: Jennifer Cotoc, Cape Henlopen High
3rd: Soyoka Broussard, Cape Henlopen High